New Arrivals at Lane

Gut Check

Gut Check Reviews  Borrow
By Eric Kester. From Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR).
(3 reviews)  
 
A darkly comic high-school drama about brotherhood, body image, concussions, and toxic masculinity from Eric Kester, the Boston Globe bestselling adult author of That Book About Harvard.

Wyatt has wanted nothing more than to play football on Grayport's championship-winning team. But not for the fame, glory, or girls. It's his last chance to build a relationship with his older brother Brett, the star quarterback, before he leaves for college.

Impossible Music

Impossible Music Reviews  Borrow
By Sean Williams. From Clarion Books.
(49 reviews)  
 
In an emotionally compelling tale crackling with originality, when a teen musician goes deaf, his quest to create an entirely new form of music brings him to a deeper understanding of his relationship to the hearing world, of himself, and of the girl he meets along the way.

Music is Simon’s life—which is why he is devastated when a stroke destroys his hearing. He resists attempts to help him adjust to his new state, refusing to be counseled, refusing to learn sign-language, refusing to have anything to do with Deaf culture.

Mayhem and Madness: Chronicles of a Teenaged Supervillain

Mayhem and Madness: Chronicles of a Teenaged Supervillain Reviews  Borrow
By J. A. Dauber. From Holiday House.
(3 reviews)  
 
Bailey never meant to be the bad guy in the bulletproof robotic suit, but with every mission he gets closer to finding his father . . . and he can't stop now.

Bailey is a pretty average teenager in a pretty average town. He runs track, gets decent grades, and has an unrequited crush. So what is a super-powered flying suit of computerized armor doing twenty feet under his boring suburban home?

Positively Teen: A Practical Guide to a More Positive, More Confident You

Positively Teen: A Practical Guide to a More Positive, More Confident You Reviews  Borrow
By Nicola Morgan. From Poppy.
(3 reviews)  
 
An uplifting and optimistic guide to navigating the ups and downs of teen years and preparing for adulthood.

Author Nicola Morgan is an international expert on teen development and mental health. During her talks to parents of pre-teens, she immediately sensed two overriding emotions: fear and pessimism. Parents were worried about their children becoming teenagers, assuming that it would be a negative experience. Not only is that a sad outlook on the teenage experience--it doesn't have to be true!

The Last Hope

The Last Hope Reviews  Borrow
By Krista Ritchie and Becca Ritchie. From Wednesday Books.
(96 reviews)  
 
A stunning conclusion to the sci-fi romance duology by writing duo Krista & Becca Ritchie, The Last Hope is filled with twists and turns you'll never see coming.

Sacrifice all you have to survive.

Imprisoned for weeks on an enemy starcraft, Franny, Court, and Mykal have sat with an unfathomable revelation. But as they fight to stay alive, escaping prison means trusting a young mysterious stranger. He knows everything about their lost histories, and when answers aren’t given freely, the bonded trio are forced to join a mission.

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Reviews  Borrow
By Brandy Colbert. From Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.
(54 reviews)  
 
Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.

Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past...whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

The Upside of Falling Down

The Upside of Falling Down Reviews  Borrow
By Rebekah Crane. From Skyscape.
(676 reviews)  
 
For Clementine Haas, finding herself is more than a nice idea. Ever since she woke up in an Irish hospital with complete amnesia, self-discovery has become her mission.

They tell her she’s the lone survivor of a plane crash. They tell her she’s lucky to be alive. But she doesn’t feel lucky. She feels…lost.

Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black

Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black Reviews  Borrow
By Marcus Sedgwick and Julian Sedgwick. From Walker Books US.
(27 reviews)  
 
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and the land of myth in this illustrated novel that transports the tale of Orpheus to World War II–era London.

Brothers Marcus and Julian Sedgwick team up to pen this haunting tale of another pair of brothers, caught between life and death in World War II. Harry Black, a conscientious objector, artist, and firefighter battling the blazes of German bombing in London in 1944, wakes in the hospital to news that his soldier brother, Ellis, has been killed.

Your Brain Needs a Hug: Life, Love, Mental Health, and Sandwiches

Your Brain Needs a Hug: Life, Love, Mental Health, and Sandwiches Reviews  Borrow
By Rae Earl. From Imprint.
(33 reviews)  
 
Imbued with a sense of humor, understanding, and hope, Your Brain Needs a Hug is a judgment-free guide for living well with your mind.

My Mad Fat Diary author Rae Earl offers her personalized advice on the A to Zs of mental health, social media, family and friendship. When she was a teenager, Rae dealt with OCD, anxiety, and an eating disorder, but she survived, and she thrived.

Summer of '69

Summer of '69 Reviews  Borrow
By Elin Hilderbrand. From Little, Brown and Company.
 
Follow New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand back in time and join a Nantucket family as they experience the drama, intrigue, and upheaval of a 1960s summer.

Welcome to the most tumultuous summer of the twentieth century! It's 1969, and for the Levin family, the times they are a-changing. Every year the children have looked forward to spending the summer at their grandmother's historic home in downtown Nantucket: but this year Blair, the oldest sister, is marooned in Boston, pregnant with twins and unable to travel.

Under Currents

Under Currents Reviews  Borrow
By Nora Roberts. From Thorndike Press Large Print.
 
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author, a novel about the power of family to harm--and to heal.

Within the walls of a tasteful, perfectly kept house in North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains, young Zane Bigelow feels like a prisoner of war. Strangers--and even Zane's own aunt across the lake--see his parents as a successful surgeon and his stylish wife, making appearances at their children's ballet recitals and baseball games. Zane and his sister know the truth: There is something terribly wrong.

Pages